Georgia Trucker Gets License Pulled for DUI

Georgia Trucker Gets License Pulled for DUI

A truck driver in Georgia was involved in an accident while under the influence of alcohol. That accident has cost the trucker his license. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration declared the trucker to be a hazard to public safety after the chain-reaction crash he caused.

According to reports, the driver of the truck ran into a stopped vehicle on I-64 in Virginia. The man was found guilty a Virginia court of driving under the influence of alcohol. The same driver had called emergency services for assistance, telling dispatchers in Greenwood, Louisiana that he was using a controlled substance and had not slept.

DUI Laws for Truckers in Georgia

Laws that pertain to driving under the influence are different for truckers than for typical drivers. For a driver of a passenger vehicle, the legal blood alcohol content is 0.08 percent. If you are a person who holds a commercial driver’s license, the legal limit is 0.04 percent. This means that a driver of a semi truck or other commercial vehicle will be arrested for DUI if they register half of the amount of alcohol in their system as a typical driver.

Implied Consent and Enhanced Penalty

In the state of Georgia, there is something called implied consent. This is the case for drivers holding a typical license and those holding a CDL. Implied consent means that you said that you would submit to a chemical test if asked to do so anytime you were pulled over and suspected of driving under the influence. If you refuse to take such a test, your license will automatically be suspended for one year.

There is also an enhanced penalty for DUI. If you register a BAC of 0.15 or higher and are found guilty of DUI, your penalties will be greater. Additionally, there is zero tolerance for any driver under the legal drinking age of 21 when found to be driving under the influence of alcohol.

DUI Sentences

For a first offense, a person is subject to a year in jail, fines not to exceed $1,000, up to one year of license suspension, community service, probation and a DUI course. The penalties for a second offense mirror that of the first offense, however the length of suspension rises to three years. For a 3rd offense, a person can expect fines of between $1,000 and $5,000 and up to five years without a license. It is for a third offense that a person may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. A fourth offense is a felony and the punishment includes up to five years in prison and a maximum fine of $5,000.

If you have been arrested for DUI in Atlanta and hold a commercial driver’s license, you need an experienced attorney fighting by your side. Reach out to our team today for a free case evaluation and let us help you stand up for your rights. Call today to schedule your consultation.

Related posts